2016 Central States Region Design Excellence Awards Call for Entries

2016 AIA Kansas / Central States Region Conference



Call for Entries

Awards Submission Site

Just as infrastructure is the foundation for Architecture, our profession is a vital support mechanism for the future of the built environment. Infrastructure will examine the critical processes necessary to understand how architecture is dependent on and contributes to the world around us on a sustaining basis.  Celebrating architectural practice as a cross-disciplinary support system.  The AIA Central States Region Design Excellence Awards recognizes outstanding architecture coming from the region of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Oklahoma.  Entries must be designed by AIA CSR members or must be projects completed within the Central States Region and designed by a fellow AIA member.  Award recipients will be publicly announced during the AIA Kansas | AIA Central States Region Design Excellence Awards Celebration on Thursday, October 20, 2016 at the Wareham Opera House in Manhattan, Kansas.  It is required that a representative of any award winning entry register for the conference to accept the firm’s award, leading to a more active celebration of those recognized.  The AIA Design Excellence Awards have been developed to encourage and recognize excellence in architecture, to elevate public awareness and to recognize the architects, consultants, contractors and owners whose efforts enhance the built environment.

Categories of Entry:

Excellence in Architecture:

Entries exemplify the thoughtful design and realization of Architectural solutions, specifically addressing the needs of the client and its community.  The designs provide a valuable response to the site context and environment in which they reside.

Excellence in Interior Architecture:    

Entries have successfully considered the activities, specific goals, and scale of its occupants.  The designs exemplify the best of interior space, material use, lighting (daylighting and supplemental), and functional relationships.

Excellence in Preservation / Adaptive Reuse:

Entries recognize excellence in the renovation, reuse, and/or preservation of existing buildings (historically identified or otherwise).  Special attention will be given to detailing and coordination of existing conditions relevant to the project’s success.

Excellence in Architectural Detailing:

Architecture is in the details.  While each successful project will pay special attention to the many details developed within any given architectural solution, this category specifically recognizes details which are especially successful in their innovation, complexity, and/or clarity.  These details may be prominent and beautifully articulated or covered, using innovative techniques and/or challenging the status quo.

Excellence in Unbuilt Architecture:

Many successful projects are unbuilt.  Whether initially intended for construction, designed for a competition, or developed for the sake of Architectural exploration and invention, these projects often influence our future work.  This category recognizes the strength and impact of ideas.



Projects entered must be designed by Architects/Architectural Firms, or Associates within the Central States Region or Architecture built within our region by fellow AIA members.  There are no limits to firm/individual submission and projects are to have be completed within the past 5 years.  A minimum of one representative of any awarded entry must be registered to attend the AIA Kansas | AIA Central States Region Infrastructure Conference and attend the Design Excellence Awards Celebration.


The AIA Central States Region Design Awards Jury will be chaired by Allison Williams, FAIA.  Williams is the current Director of Design at AECOM (USA Western Region), San Francisco, California. Prior to joining AECOM, Williams led architecture studios for Perkins + Will and SOM with high-profile projects that include the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Computational Research Facility, the International Terminal at San Francisco International Airport, and CREATE at the National University of Singapore.  She currently serves as a member of the Harvard Graduate School of Design Visiting Committee for Harvard’s Board of Overseers, the Harvard Design Magazine Practitioners Advisory Board, and is a member of the Board of Directors for the San Francisco Planning and Urban Research Association.  The remaining jury team will include respected professionals from the architectural community outside of the Central States Region and announced at a later date.  Award categories have been presented to organize and identify entries although the jury reserves the right to award all designations including special awards at its own discretion.  Each entry will be judged for the success with which the project has met its individual requirements.


 All submissions are required to complete the Application Form provided alongside this call for entries, along with a 12 page (slide) digital PDF presentation.  Final Detailed Submission Instruction will be provided online June 17, 2016.  Approvals and releases are required from all relevant parties including, but not limited to, architects, owners, and photographers.  It is the entrant’s responsibility to ensure that all submission materials, including professional photographs, are cleared for release and use by the entrant and the American Institute of Architects (AIA).


June 10, 2016                    Entry Application provided online

June 17, 2016                    Detailed submission requirements provided online

July 25, 2016                     Final Submissions are due no later than 5:00 pm

October 20, 2016             AIA Kansas | Central States Design Awards Celebration at The Wareham Opera House, Manhattan, KS


Questions regarding the AIA Kansas | AIA Central States Region Design Excellence Awards should be submitted to Kelly Engelke: 913-515-3233 or kelly@aiaks.org


Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *